What is a Contingency Fee in a Personal Injury case?

December 20, 2018

In the State of Florida, all Personal Injury cases are handled on a "Contingency Fee" basis. What does that mean?

You've likely seen the words "contingency fee" associated with Personal Injury claims. In plain speak, all that phrase means is that you pay nothing for an attorney to take your case. Instead of paying an attorney up front, your lawyer will charge a contingency fee. Only if and when your attorney recovers money for your injuries do you pay them.

How Contingency Fees Work

Sometimes those most in need of compensation from a lawsuit are the ones that can't afford to obtain legal representation. Let's face it: medical bills and huge legal expenses are not in the budget of the average family here in South Florida. Contingency fees remove that financial barrier. An injured party can secure the best possible legal representation even though they may not have the money to pay for it up front. Instead, the attorney or law firm will front the costs of litigation and their fees will be deducted from the final settlement.

Most Personal Injury cases are settled outside of the courtroom. In such instances, your Personal Injury attorney will usually command a fee of 33.33% (one third) of the settlement. For example, if your final settlement comes to $60,000, you will receive $40,000 and your lawyer will earn $20,000. Some states have statutes that limit the percentage an attorney can command.

Schedule Your Free Consultation

The Ticktin Law Group offers free preliminary consultations to anyone who thinks they have a case. An attorney will help you determine if you have a Personal Injury case and if it makes sense for you to obtain legal representation. Call (561) 232-2222 or complete our contact form here.