Did you know that texting while behind the wheel is considered a primary offense in the state of Florida? If you don’t, you should be aware. Law enforcement officers can pull you over if they see you texting and driving. Florida lawmakers wanted implement this law to reduce the number of car accidents caused by distracted drivers.
Texting while driving is dangerous…
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), in 2017 distracted drivers killed over three-thousand people. This law became effective July 1st. However, police officers will only be issuing warnings until it is fully enforced on January 1, 2020. After that date, police officers will be issuing citations for texting and driving. A first-time offender will receive a citation of $30.00. A second-time offender will receive a $60.00 citation plus three points on their driving record.
Avoid Holding Your Phone
Although the Florida statute outlaws texting and driving, it does not prohibit all use of your cell phone. Drivers can still use GPS and other navigation systems behind the wheel. However, you cannot hold your cell phone if you are driving in a construction zone with workers present or a school zone. This particular restriction will be begin on October 1st. You can text at a stoplight or any other traffic signal – just as long as your car is completely stopped. The safest option is to wait until you reach your destination to use your phone to text. You can help keep the roads safe and yourself and others safe by not texting and driving.
The Ticktin Law Group Can Help
The Ticktin Law Group is here to help you if you are involved in an accident. Just contact us for a free consultation. Getting in touch with us is free and very easy. During your free consultation, an experienced attorney will go over the particulars of your case and determine whether you have a claim. To get started, schedule your free consultation by calling (561) 232-2222 or by completing our contact form here.